A Rhubarb Cocktail (making magazine)

About a month ago, I was approached by the lovely folks at Making Magazine, who wanted a cocktail for their June issue.

Obviously, I was flattered and very excited. I was also absolutely terrified. I’ve designed drinks for bar menus and events. I make cocktails at home all the time. But the idea of sharing those drinks with, I don’t know, the entire readership of a national magazine? Wow.

After a lot of procrastinating and a bit of drinking (research, obviously!), this was the result – click for a larger version.
Tash Walker/Making Magazine 2014
I love making simple syrups to use in drinks. Infusing spirits tends to give a better flavour, but it takes time. And if a syrup doesn’t turn out how you want it, you can chuck it out. With spirits, on the other hand…well, I have a half-bottle of a ginger-infused vodka that somehow tastes exactly like lime cordial. It’s done three house moves with me but I still can’t bring myself to throw it away.

With this recipe, you could swap the gin for vodka or the syrup for a fruit liqueur. I’m looking forward to having it drizzled with Rhuby, a rhubarb and vanilla liqueur I tried this week.

If you want to find the magazine (and I’d highly recommend it if you enjoy crafts – I had literally no idea there were so many things you could do with twine and tons of patience) it’s out now and it looks like this!

Making Magazine June 2014
Happy drinking (:

Leave a Reply

